News & insights

Loading...
17.09.19 > News
Change is necessary – standstill leads to economic decline

There is a widespread assumption that economic growth is only possible at the expense of other people or nature. David Dorn disagrees in two recent articles. “The world economy is not a zero-sum game,” he says, “an economy must adapt and strive for growth - inability to change always leads to decline in the long run”. In this context, questions of inequality have become a core economic issue. For an adaptable and competitive economic policy to be democratically supported, the fruits of economic growth must be distributed relatively evenly among the population.

29.08.19 > News
Jackson Hole: Challenges of monetary policy

David Dorn comments on the annual Jackson Hole Economic Policy Symposium. In an interview with Swiss national news SRF, he notes that the US Federal Reserve bank is still very independent but also has to align with the current economic developments. What scope do the central banks have under these circumstances? This interview provides valuable insights.

21.08.19 > News
Women in Economics with Rachel Griffith

The fourth economist to be featured in the 'Women in Economics' series is UBS Center advisory board member Rachel Griffith. She is Professor of Economics at the University of Manchester and Research Director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies. Much of Griffith’s work has been centered on nutrition and how it relates to public policy. “The big takeaway from a lot of the work I've done on nutrition is that it's quite hard for the government to come in and change people's behavior in a constructive way, with one particular policy,” she says.

20.08.19 > News
Good education and training are crucial

David Dorn is convinced that Switzerland is able to address the challenges of automation by artificial intelligence (AI). "History has repeatedly shown us that the automation of work does not result in long-term unemployment," he says in an interview with the Swiss paper 'Finanz und Wirtschaft'. But AI is likely to once again lead to a significant automation step in information processing, which will probably affect the banking sector, for example. According to Dorn, the good initial and continuing training of employees is crucial. They must be able to adapt to changing work content throughout their career.

20.08.19 > News
Power poker on the edge

"Is Trump plunging the world into recession?" asks the Swiss paper 'Weltwoche'. In the article, David Dorn carefully weighs his words when interpreting events involving the minds of millions of people and enormous sums of money. "It is possible that the entire economy is significantly influenced by the erratic behavior of an individual," he says. But in contrast to earlier crises, we are dealing with gradually increasing intensification, also in the trade war. Above all, Dorn sees a threat in the resurgence of nationalism and the endeavor of some countries to be economically isolated from each other. This is particularly serious for a small, connected country like Switzerland.

07.08.19 > News
The facts about the gender gap

"Our advantage are facts," reply UBS Center scholarship holder Ursina Schaede and her Department colleague Andrea Hofer to the Swiss publication Beobachter. When it comes to equal opportunities for men and women, points out the consumer magazine, anecdotes and preconceptions dominate. Read the facts about the gender gap in the detailed report. Inspired by the 'Research Slam' on the Swiss women's strike and the conversation with the journalists, Ursina and Andrea also started to write a blog. In a loose cycle, they spotlight new studies that all deal, in one way or another, with factors that influence women's participation in the labor market.

05.08.19 > News
How power is distributed in the economy

Oliver Hart, Nobel laureate and UBS Center Advisory Board member, explores, among other things, the question of how power is distributed in the economy. In a recent conversation with the Swiss weekly NZZ am Sonntag, he puts the following consideration in the room: «How can one limit the power of companies, which grow thanks to the network effect to such an enormous size?» Continue reading in the article, why Hart is not sure whether the break-up of technology giants like Facebook is the solution and that corporate targets for businesses would be much more effective.

Jul 2019
Insights/Dialogue & Events

We followed up on the "Women in Economics" initiative by UBS and CEPR and organized a breakfast talk with Marianne Bertrand, Raquel Fernandez, and Ekaterina Zhuravskaya for young female economists at the University of Zurich’s Graduate School of Economics.

Jul
 
19
Insights/Dialogue & Events

We followed up on the "Women in Economics" initiative by UBS and CEPR and organized a breakfast talk with Marianne Bertrand, Raquel Fernandez, and Ekaterina Zhuravskaya for young female economists at the University of Zurich’s Graduate School of Economics.

ALL NEWS

Spotlight events

Sep
26
Academic event/Education

Homecoming der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät und der Alumni-Vereine

Sep
26
Academic event/Education

Homecoming der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät und der Alumni-Vereine

Oct
21
Public event/Inaugural lecture

Prof. Florian Scheuer, Professorship for Economics of Institutions

Oct
21
Public event/Inaugural lecture

Prof. Florian Scheuer, Professorship for Economics of Institutions

Nov
04
Public event/Inaugural lecture

Prof. Nir Jaimovich, Professor of Economics

Nov
04
Public event/Inaugural lecture

Prof. Nir Jaimovich, Professor of Economics

Nov
11
Public event/Forum

Torsten Persson, Stockholm University; Joschka Fischer, former Foreign Minister and Vice Chancellor of Germany

Nov
11
Public event/Forum

Torsten Persson, Stockholm University; Joschka Fischer, former Foreign Minister and Vice Chancellor of Germany

ALL EVENTS

News & Insights

Loading...
17.09.19 > News
Veränderung ist nötig – Stillstand führt zum Abstieg

Wirtschaftswachstum ist nur auf Kosten anderer Menschen oder der Natur möglich, lautet eine weit verbreitete Annahme, der David Dorn jedoch widerspricht. «Die Weltwirtschaft ist kein Nullsummenspiel» sagt er, «eine Volkswirtschaft muss sich anpassen und Wachstum anstreben - Unfähigkeit zur Veränderung führt langfristig immer zum Abstieg». In diesen Kontext werden Fragen zur Ungleichheit ein ökonomisches Kernthema. Damit eine anpassungsfähige und wettbewerbsorientiere Wirtschaftspolitik demokratisch getragen wird, müssen die Früchte des Wirtschaftswachstums relativ gleichmässig an die Bevölkerung verteilt werden.

29.08.19 > News
Jackson Hole: Herausforderungen der Geldpolitik

David Dorn kommentiert in einem Beitrag in der SRF Tagesschau das jährliche wirtschaftspolitische Symposium in Jackson Hole. Er stellt fest, dass die amerikanische Notenbank immer noch sehr unabhängig agiere, sich aber auch nach der gegenwärtigen Wirtschaftsentwicklung richten muss. Welchen Spielraum haben die Notenbanken überhaupt unter diesen Umständen? Dieses Interview gibt dazu mehr Einsicht.

21.08.19 > News
Women in Economics mit Rachel Griffith

Die vierte Ökonomin in der Reihe 'Women in Economics' ist Rachel Griffith, Beiratsmitglied des UBS Centers. Sie ist Professorin für Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Universität von Manchester und Forschungsdirektorin des Institute for Fiscal Studies. Ein Grossteil der Arbeit von Griffith konzentriert sich auf die Ernährung im Zusammenhang mit Politik. «Die grosse Einsicht der Arbeit, die ich im Bereich Ernährung geleistet habe, ist, dass es für die Regierung ziemlich schwierig ist, das Verhalten der Menschen auf konstruktive Weise und mit einer bestimmten Politik zu ändern», sagt sie.

20.08.19 > News
Gute Aus- und Weiterbildung sind entscheidend

David Dorn ist im Interview mit 'Finanz und Wirtschaft' überzeugt, dass die Schweiz den Herausforderungen der Automatisierung durch künstliche Intelligenz (KI) gewachsen ist. «Die Geschichte hat uns immer wieder gezeigt, dass die Automatisierung von Arbeit keine langfristige Arbeitslosigkeit zur Folge hat,» führt er dazu aus. Aber KI dürfte noch einmal zu einem bedeutenden Automatisierungsschritt in der Informationsverarbeitung führen, wovon z.B. der Bankensektor betroffen sein dürfte. Entscheidend seien, so Dorn, die gute Aus- und Weiterbildung der Beschäftigten. Sie müssen die Möglichkeit haben, sich über die ganze Karriere hinweg einem veränderten Arbeitsinhalt anpassen zu können.

20.08.19 > News
Machtpoker am Abgrund

«Stürzt Trump die Welt in eine Rezession?», fragt die Weltwoche. David Dorn wägt im Artikel seine Worte sorgfältig ab, wenn er Vorgänge deutet, bei denen es um die Gedankengänge von Millionen von Menschen und um enorme Geldsummen geht. «Es ist möglich, dass die ganze Wirtschaft durch das erratische Verhalten einer Einzelperson massgeblich beeinflusst wird», sagt er. Aber man habe es auch, im Gegensatz zu früheren Krisen, eher mit graduellen Verschärfungen zu tun, auch im Handelskrieg. Bedrohlich findet Dorn vor allem das Wiederaufkommen des Nationalismus und das Bestreben mancher Länder, sich wirtschaftlich voneinander abzuschotten. Für ein kleines, vernetztes Land wie die Schweiz sei dies besonders gravierend.

07.08.19 > News
Die Fakten zum Gender-Gap

«Unser Vorteil sind Fakten», entgegnen UBS Center Doktorandin Ursina Schaede und ihre Department-Kollegin Andrea Hofer gegenüber dem Beobachter. Wenn es um Chancengleichheit von Männern und Frauen geht, so das Konsument*innenmagazin, dominieren Anekdoten und vorgefasste Meinungen. Die Fakten zum Gender-Gap lesen sie im ausführlichen Bericht. Angeregt vom 'Research Slam' am Frauenstreik und dem Gespräch mit den Journalistinnen haben Ursina und Andrea zusätzlich angefangen, einen Blog zu schreiben. In losen Abständen beleuchten sie hier neue Studien, die sich alle auf die eine oder andere Weise mit Faktoren, die die Arbeitsmarktbeteiligung von Frauen beeinflussen, auseinandersetzen.

05.08.19 > News
Wie die Macht in der Wirtschaft verteilt ist

Oliver Hart, Nobelpreisträger und UBS Center Beiratsmitglied, erforscht unter anderem die Frage, wie die Macht in der Wirtschaft verteilt ist. In einem aktuellen Gespräch mit der NZZ am Sonntag stellt er folgende Überlegung in den Raum: «Wie kann man die Macht von Firmen einschränken, die dank dem Netzwerkeffekt zu solch enormer Grösse heranwachsen?» Lesen Sie im Artikel weiter, warum Hart nicht sicher ist, ob das Aufbrechen der Technologieriesen wie Facebook die Lösung ist und dass gemeinschaftliche Zielvorgaben für Unternehmen viel effektiver wären.

Jul 2019
Insights/Dialogue & Events

We followed up on the "Women in Economics" initiative by UBS and CEPR and organized a breakfast talk with Marianne Bertrand, Raquel Fernandez, and Ekaterina Zhuravskaya for young female economists at the University of Zurich’s Graduate School of Economics.

Jul
 
19
Insights/Dialogue & Events

We followed up on the "Women in Economics" initiative by UBS and CEPR and organized a breakfast talk with Marianne Bertrand, Raquel Fernandez, and Ekaterina Zhuravskaya for young female economists at the University of Zurich’s Graduate School of Economics.

ALLE NEWS

Spotlight Veranstaltungen

Sep
26
Akademische Veranstaltung/Weiterbildung

Homecoming der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät und der Alumni-Vereine

Sep
26
Akademische Veranstaltung/Weiterbildung

Homecoming der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät und der Alumni-Vereine

Oct
21
Öffentliche Veranstaltung/Antrittsvorlesung

Prof. Florian Scheuer, Professorship for Economics of Institutions

Oct
21
Öffentliche Veranstaltung/Antrittsvorlesung

Prof. Florian Scheuer, Professorship for Economics of Institutions

Nov
04
Öffentliche Veranstaltung/Antrittsvorlesung

Prof. Nir Jaimovich, Professor of Economics

Nov
04
Öffentliche Veranstaltung/Antrittsvorlesung

Prof. Nir Jaimovich, Professor of Economics

Nov
11
Öffentliche Veranstaltung/Forum

Torsten Persson, Stockholm University; Joschka Fischer, former Foreign Minister and Vice Chancellor of Germany

Nov
11
Öffentliche Veranstaltung/Forum

Torsten Persson, Stockholm University; Joschka Fischer, former Foreign Minister and Vice Chancellor of Germany

ALLE EVENTS